Indian Cricket caption Virat Kohli, Mirabai Chanu recommended for Khel Ratna

Indian captain Virat Kohli ought to well be on his way to becoming best the third cricketer to get the country’s highest carrying honour, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award.

In keeping with modern developments, the awards committee has endorsed the names of Kohli and Commonwealth video games gold medal winning weightlifter Mirabai Chanu for the top honour.

The BCCI had in April recommended former India captain Rahul Dravid for the celebrated Dronacharya award and once again nominated Virat Kohli for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna honour.

Speakme to Hindustan times, a supply close to the committee confirmed that Kohli’s call has been encouraged for the award. “sure, his name has been advocated for the honour. He has represented the usa with difference and merits to be rewarded for bringing delight and glory to the u . S . A .,” he said.

Virat Kohli has been India’s stand-out performer for a while now and is broadly regarded as the sector’s great batsman. He changed into the lone Indian batsman to affect inside the recently concluded check series in England, in which he scored in excess of 500 runs.

Kohli went past the 6000-run mark in take a look at cricket all through the england tour and has 23 centuries to his name inside the longest layout. A run gadget in a single-day internationals, Kohli has 9779 runs to his name in conjunction with 35 centuries.

Mirabai Chanu was the toast of the nation earlier this year as she received a gold medal in the women’s 48 kg weightlifting occasion on the Gold Coast Commonwealth games. She had previously received a silver medal inside the identical category inside the 2014 games in Glasgow.

Read the full list of Khel Ratna award winners

1991–92: Viswanathan Anand (Chess)

1992–93: Geet Sethi (Billiards)

1993–94: Homi Motivala (Yachting – Team Event)

1993–94: Pushpendra Kumar (Yachting – Team Event)

1994–95: Karnam Malleswari (Weightlifting)

1995–96: Nameirakpam Kunjarani (Weightlifting)

1996–97: Leander Paes (Tennis)

1997–98: Sachin Tendulkar (Cricket)

1998–99: Jyotirmoyee Sikdar (Athletics)

1999–2000: Dhanraj Pillay (Hockey)

2000–01: Pullela Gopichand (Badminton)

2001: Abhinav Bindra (Shooting)

2002: K. M. Beenamol (Athletics)

2002: Anjali Bhagwat (Shooting)

2003: Anju Bobby George (Athletics)

2004: Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore (Shooting)

2005: Pankaj Advani (Billiards and Snooker)

2006: Manavjit Singh Sandhu (Shooting)

2007: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Cricket)

2008: No award given

2009: Mary Kom (Boxing)

2009: Vijender Singh (Boxing)

2009: Sushil Kumar (Wrestling)

2010: Saina Nehwal (Badminton)

2011: Gagan Narang (Shooting)

2012: Vijay Kumar (Shooting)

2012: Yogeshwar Dutt (Wrestling)

2013: Ronjan Sodhi (Shooting)

2014: No award given

2015: Sania Mirza (Tennis)

2016: P. V. Sindhu (Badminton)

2016: Dipa Karmakar (Gymnastics)

2016: Jitu Rai (Shooting)

2016: Sakshi Malik (Wrestling)

2017: Devendra Jhajharia (Para Athlete)

2017: Sardara Singh (Hockey)

Leave a Reply