Sushil Chandra takes charge as the New Election Commissioner of India

Shri Sushil Chandra has assumed charge as the new Election Commissioner (EC) of India today on 15th of February 2019 and joins the Commission with Chief Election Commissioner Shri Sunil Arora and Election Commissioner Shri Ashok Lavasa.

Born on 15th May 1957 Shri Chandra is a 1980 batch Indian Revenue Service Officer. In the IRS service Shri Sushil Chandra has rendered his service in various States viz; Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Delhi, Gujarat and Maharashtra.

Acquiring his academic proficiency from Roorkee University and LL.B. from D.A.V. College, Dehradun, Shri Sushil Chandra has worked extensively in the areas of International Taxation and Investigation at various places. Sushil Chandra brings rich experience from his position of Director of Investigation, Mumbai and Director General (Investigation), Gujarat. Besides this, he has undergone various training programmes at Singapore, IIM Bangalore & Wharton.

Prior to joining ECI Shri Chandra held the office of Chairman in Central Board of Direct Taxes, Department of Revenue, Ministry of Finance, and Government of India and was also Member (Investigation), C.B.D.T.

source : PIB Delhi 

Also Read :

10 things you need to know about Assam’s Bogibeel Bridge

Indian Railways proposed rail line to Leh ,10 things you should know

Sanskriti Kumbh 29 days Cultural extravaganza begins today at Kumbh Mela Area

P.M. Narendra Modi’s last Mann Ki Baat of this year 2018

Leave a Reply